NOTE: Below is modified text from James Madison's July 17, 1787, record of state votes on the compromise suggested by Roger Sherman, which was known as the Connecticut Plan. In the notes on the transcript the vote reads: "Connecticut, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, North Carolina [Mr. Spaight, no], aye-5; Pennsylvania, Virginia, South Carolina, Georgia, no-4; Massachusetts, divided, [Mr. Gerry, Mr. Strong, aye; Mr. King, Mr. Gorham, no.]"

Madison's notes are in black. Historical context is in red.

Monday July 17, 1787

Resolved that in the original formation of the Legislature of the U. S. the first branch thereof shall consist of sixty-five members, of which number New Hampshire shall send (3); Massachusetts, (8); Rhode Island. (1); Connecticut, (5); New York, (6); New Jersey, (4); Pennsylvania (8); Delaware, (1); Maryland, (6); Virginia, (10); North Carolina, (5); South Carolina, (5); and Georgia, (3). The first branch of the legislature is the House of Representatives. The delegates suggested that the House would have 65 members distributed as recorded by Madison. When the first Congress met three years later, in 1790, there were 105 representatives in the House.

But as the present situation of the States may probably alter in the number of their inhabitants, the Legislature of the U. S. shall be authorized from time to time to apportion the number of representative.... The number of representatives was increased 12 times from 1790 to 1910. Since 1910, there have been 435 members in the House of Representatives after the number was capped at 435 in 1913.

Resolved, that a Census be taken within six years from the first meeting of the Legislature of the United States and once within the term of every 10 years afterwards of all the inhabitants of the U. S. in the manner and according to the ratio recommended by Congress.... The first census was conducted in 1790, and the population was counted at 3,929,214. The 23rd and most recent census, taken in 2010, recorded the population at 308,745,538.

Resolved that in the second branch of the Legislature of the U. S. each State shall have an equal vote. The second branch of the legislature is called the Senate.

This annotated version of James Madison's convention notes was created for the New York State K–12 Social Studies Toolkit by Binghamton University, 2015. The text is excerpted from the original, and spelling has been modernized. Public domain. Available from the Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy, Yale Law School, Lillian Goldman Library: http://avalon.law.yale.edu/18th_century/debates_716.asp. See also a crowd-sourced annotated version of

http://avaion.iaw.yaie.edu/18tn_century/debates_/16.asp. See also a crowd-sourced annotated version of the document at ConText: http://context.montpelier.org/document/178.